Home > Faith-TS, Pastor Jessica Miller -TS > Quit or Be Content…

Quit or Be Content…

I have a confession. I’ve promised to be completely transparent, but I just read a draft of a blog post I wrote in August and have decided it will NOT be published. It was called “I Quit Life”.

Basically, I got overwhelmed with life (family, work, home, friends) and in typical Transparent Sunday fashion -set out to tell you about it.  However, reading it now, I see it was really just a whiney mess of thoughts from a very tired and stressed out pregnant lady. I didn’t even finish reading through it. It’s bad folks. Imagine this guy writing a blog and you’ll get the idea HAHA!

I’m happy to report that I don’t want to quit life anymore and although I am not as stressed, I am definitely not CONTENT either.
The inspiration for today’s post came from a friend’s facebook status I read this morning:

I am thankful for contentment – that peaceful, settled feeling – the absence of the gnawing unrest inside telling me that life is not turning out the way I planned it or that something is not quite right. I don’t mean complacency, but the inner satisfaction of knowing that life doesn’t have to be perfect to be great – the rest that comes from knowing I am where God wants me to be and that He will continue to take me where He wants me to go – the place He knows is good for me. I don’t have to plan it all out and worry about it. He painted my picture before I was ever born, and every day He is showing it to me.

Now godliness with contentment is great gain. 1 Timothy 6:6

Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6

WOW!!!! Let me start by saying that just by reading that I felt a sense of peace. Funny how soaking in God’s Word will do that. His Word is clear. He wants us to live life to the fullest, and to live in a constant state of peace. He is faithful, and He does have his absolute best planed for us. I get in the way of His perfect plan EVERY single day! You know how I know that? Because, I don’t think I have EVER been in that place of perfect peace and rest. Phrases like “Settled” “Absence of Unrest” “Inner satisfaction that life doesn’t have to be perfect to be great” “I don’t have to plan it all out” are foreign concepts to me. I know how to be the opposite of all of those and ready to Quit Life, but to be at peace and be CONTENT with life…shake my head.
 
Reality is I do my very best every single day to balance a life of friends, family, ministry/work, and I constantly fall short. Man! What a hard pill to swallow “My Very Best Isn’t Good Enough”, and I swallow it all the time. Truth is I will never be/do enough. People will always need more of me, work will never be finished, and I will never satisfy the needs of everyone. That is not how it is supposed to be! No wonder I, and I’m sure many of you, continue to feel overwhelmed and want to Quit Life.
 
You know what that facebook post reminded me of….even though I know better, I continue to live in the flesh, serving the world as BEST I CAN. We’re called to serve only one person and that man is Jesus. My very best is all that he asks for and it will always be good enough. In fact, in my absolute failure I am still good enough. We are ALWAYS good enough in His eyes. My friend gets that! That is why she is content. She said “Life doesn’t have to be perfect to be great”. God says, I don’t have to be perfect to be great and definitely don’t have to be perfect to be loved!
 
You have no idea how much I wish I could snap my fingers and make myself live in that pure and beautiful state of God’s perfect plan of peace! For those who don’t encounter people, live in the 7th Heaven, and shama-lama-ding-dong constantly…this may come naturally for you. But not for me folks. Chaos is natural for me. Who knows why… but I’m definately on a mission now.
 
I haven’t done this before…but indulge me. After spilling my guts in this post, I don’t have answers and I haven’t come through to tell you about it…so how do I end this? I want to PRAY! Actually, I like to call this type of praying, PROGGING. Yeah! I made that up. We’re going to pray + blog. :) Wait, I have to turn off my Pandora Radio. I’ll be progging and then start writing lyrics to a song and yeah…its off now. Here we go.
 
Lord, you have such a perfect plan for our lives; follow you, trust you, and worship you. Living a life as you have planned it, means we’ll have no reason to feel overwhelmed, not good enough, not loved, and not at PEACE! Lord help me live in peace! You are the Prince of Peace, and I know you dwell in my heart so please help me to remember to let peace reign there. Lord, I cast down the spirit of heaviness and I bind the spirit of perfection AGAIN! Lord, help me to see where I keep allowing these things to creep back in over and over. You are my master not perfection! Teach me and guide me by your Holy Spirit to be content. Thank you for your perfect and unconditional love…I need a lot of it right now. Amen.
Transparent Reader Question: Do you want to Quit or be Content? What has the Lord shown you about His perfect plan of peace?
  1. Geneva Hensley
    11/06/2012 at 6:17 am | #1

    Reading this I was reminded of this verse, that’s always troubled me a bit….Let us labour therefore to enter into that rest, lest any man fall after the same example of unbelief. (He 4:11) AND I had just read a devotional about the Sabbath being a time of rest & peaceful meditation….(???) The 2 together made me realize you guys REALLY have to labor to enter that rest. I knew that, but just needed reminding. I remember the days of being very involved in ministry with 2 young children :-/
    Someone told me recently to be more like Mary than Martha :-)
    That IS where we find strength & peace. Prayers that during the last down hill part of pregnancy you are able to “make” that time of refreshing for just you! Be blessed!!! Love you guys!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

